VacciShield immune boost review and giveaway!

Vaccination. It is a word that evokes strong emotions in millions of parents around the world. From relief and gratefulness for the disease protection vaccines promise to fear of possible injury or other negative side effects to frustration over lack of access, the topic of vaccination is one of the most widely and intensely debated parenting issues families face today.

August is “National Immunization Awareness Month” and many U.S. parents have found ourselves rushing our kids to Doctors’ offices across the nation to get state-mandated vaccinations before the first day of school. Since the 1990s, all 50 U.S. states have required students to receive certain immunizations, and most states require them in daycare centers and Head Start programs as well.

However, you don’t have to look far to find medical professionals and scientists, parents and organizations raising concerns over adverse reactions and the potential long-term negative consequences of injecting so many doses of vaccines into a young child’s body. According to the schedule released in June 2011, 49 doses of vaccines to prevent 14 diseases are recommended by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) by age six and well over 50 doses by age 18. Many parents have become concerned that some of these recommended vaccines contain potentially harmful chemicals and other ingredients of concern like mercury, aluminum, formaldehyde and thimerosal. Additionally, families may have religious or ethical objections such as the use of human tissue cells to create vaccines, the belief that the body is sacred and should be healed by natural means, or concern over vaccination testing procedures.

Despite objections like these, Dr. Robert W. Sears, son of Dr.’s William and Martha Sears, and author of The Vaccine Book, says “vaccines are very important, diseases can be severe, and I’d say the benefits of the vaccines outweigh the risks, but you need to be aware that there is a very small risk of a severe vaccine reaction” (source: “Vaccine Debate”, Mothering Magazine, July-August 2009).

My own family’s Naturopathic Doctor (N.D.) agrees with Dr. Sears and references his book regularly during vaccination counseling sessions with concerned parents like me. We have chosen to vaccinate on an alternative schedule, with our primary concern being our children’s immune systems’ ability to handle multiple vaccines at the same time. But with formaldehyde officially recognized as a known carcinogen in 2011, thousands of parents with autistic children speaking out about their experiences with vaccination and autism, and the lack of specific scientific evidence demonstrating the long-term safety vs health risks of preservatives and other additives in today’s vaccines, I still find myself nervous and weighing the costs and benefits each time one of my kids gets ready to receive another vaccine.

We take steps to naturally boost immunity, like drinking lots of water, taking vitamins and eating a healthy organic diet, but I always feel like there is more we could be doing to help our kids handle and effectively process vaccinations. So I was thrilled to recently meet Dr. Catherine Clinton, a mom and Naturopathic Physician (N.D.) in Eugene, OR, who has developed a product called VacciShield for infants and children to help support healthy brain, gastrointestinal and detoxification function during vaccinations, while at the same time boosting the body’s immune response to vaccination*. With both of my kids’ next scheduled vaccinations on the horizon, I was excited to show this product to my family’s N.D. for a 2nd opinion. She studied the ingredients carefully and encouraged me to use it with both my 2 year old and 4 year old, stating that all of the vitamins, probiotics, etc. she recommends to boost kids’ systems for vaccination are included, with her only recommendation being an additional supplement of vitamin A for some kids (note: Dr. Clinton purposely excluded Vitamin A from the formula to ensure the product would be safe for kids with autoimmune deficiencies or diseases. Please consult with your family pracitioner or pediatrition before adding any supplements to your child’s immunization preparation routine).

While of course I know that VacciShield is not a magic potion that will guarantee my kids never experience any side effects or injuries from vaccination, I do believe that it will provide their growing bodies with additional and natural support their bodies need to process the vaccines. For me, the easy-to-use powdered supplement with no artificial flavoring, coloring or preservatives is easily worth the $26.99 (+free shipping!) price tag for the healthy brain, immune, gastrointestinal and detoxification support it will provide my kids. I’m thankful to Dr. Clinton for investing countless hours of her time researching and creating this product. Knowing my kids will have this extra support makes me feel a lot more comfortable about the choice to vaccinate my kids.

Interested in trying VacciShield for your family? Dr. Clinton has generously offered to giveaway a bottle of VacciShield to one of my lucky readers!

Here’s how to enter the giveaway: There are 10 ways to enter! Please complete each of the following entries and add a separate comment below for each entry once completed. Entries will be accepted thru Midnight PST on August 31, 2011. Winner will be selected via Random.org and notified via email.

Mandatory entry: Visit http://vaccishield.com and add a comment below describing one reason you’d like to try VacciShield for your family.

Bonus entries:

  1. +1 Like VacciShield on Facebook
  2. +1 Follow VacciShield on Twitter (@vaccishield)
  3. +1 Subscribe to Green Kids Guide Blog
  4. +1 Like Green Kids Guide on Facebook
  5. +1 Follow Green Kids Guide on Twitter (@greenkidsguide)
  6. +1 Tweet this review + giveaway to your followers (you may tweet for a +1 entry once per day): Getting ready for #backtoschool #vaccination? Read @greenkidsguide review of @vaccishield and enter to win! http://bit.ly/oDci80
  7. +1 Post this giveaway to your Facebook page
  8. +1 Vote for Green Kids Guide in Parents best kids health blog contest
  9. +1 Grab Green Kids Guide’s Button and add to your webpage or blog. Don’t have a blog? Refer at least 1 friend to this post (enter website where posted or first name and last initial of friend referred)

Don’t forget to leave a separate comment below for each entry!

*These statements have not been evaluated by the FDA. This product is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure or prevent any disease.

FTC disclosure: I received a bottle of Vaccishield for purposes of review. I am not a medical professional. All opinions expressed are my own.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

45 Responses to “VacciShield immune boost review and giveaway!”

  1. Toni
    August 24, 2011 at 9:59 AM #

    Their first paragraph from their web site says it all: “Our unique blend of non-dairy probiotics, vitamins, and minerals has been formulated to meet the specific challenges and needs of a growing child during vaccinations.” I would love to try something that could help my children and anything more natural is a plus.
    keltner021403@yahoo.com

    • nancy
      August 31, 2011 at 9:54 AM #

      EVERY STATE HAS EXEMPTIONS AVAILABLE – YOU DO NOT HAVE TO VACCINATE TO GO TO SCHOOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!CHECK YOUR LOCAL STATE LAWS.. ALL STATES BUT TWO HAVE RELIGIOUS EXEMPTION AVAILABLE. SOME STATES HAVE PHILOSOPHICAL. DON’T VACCINATE BECAUSE YOU THINK YOU HAVE TO. YOU DON’T

      • GreenKidsGuide
        August 31, 2011 at 12:18 PM #

        Hi, Nancy. Thanks for taking the time to comment. You bring up an excellent point about the importance of families making their own informed decisions and advocating on behalf of their kids. My post was not meant to indicate that all families should or do choose to vaccinate. But rather to highlight that for those that choose to vaccinate, there is a product available which may help their kids’ bodies to handle and process those vaccines. For anyone wondering what the requirements are for their state, here is a complete listing of exemptions available by state. http://www.nvic.org/Vaccine-Laws/state-vaccine-requirements.aspx.

  2. Toni Keltner
    August 24, 2011 at 10:00 AM #

    I LIKE VacciShield on Facebook!
    keltner021403@yahoo.com

  3. Toni Keltner
    August 24, 2011 at 10:00 AM #

    I follow VacciShield on Twitter via @chicmommatoni
    keltner021403@yahoo.com

  4. Toni Keltner
    August 24, 2011 at 10:02 AM #

    I tried posting this already, but it didn’t show up. so, this mandatory entry may be a duplicate.

    The second paragraph of their web site says it all: “Our unique blend of non-dairy probiotics, vitamins, and minerals has been formulated to meet the specific challenges and needs of a growing child during vaccinations.” I would love to have my little ones try this and anything more natural is a plus!
    keltner021403@yahoo.com

  5. Toni Keltner
    August 24, 2011 at 10:02 AM #

    I subscribe to the GreenKids Blog!
    keltner021403@yahoo.com

  6. Toni Keltner
    August 24, 2011 at 10:03 AM #

    I like Green Kids Guide on Facebook!
    keltner021403@yahoo.com

  7. Toni Keltner
    August 24, 2011 at 10:03 AM #

    I follow Green Kids Guide on Twitter via @chucmommatoni
    keltner021403@yahoo.com

  8. Toni Keltner
    August 24, 2011 at 10:08 AM #

    I grabbed your button and posted on my blog! http://tonithechicmomma.blogspot.com/
    keltner021403@yahoo.com

    • GreenKidsGuide
      August 31, 2011 at 12:23 PM #

      Thanks, Toni! I’ll get a link to your blog up on my site today too!! :)

    • GreenKidsGuide
      October 7, 2011 at 3:18 PM #

      Congratulations, Toni! You are the winner of the VacciShield giveaway!!! VacciShield will send the product to you directly. Thank you for all of your comments and support. :)

  9. Ames
    August 26, 2011 at 1:05 PM #

    My daughter is only 3 months, but at her 2 month shots (her first), she reacted – she was so irritable and sad and “sickish’ for a week following the shots!

    It would be great to use these at the 6 month shots – I’m planning to space out her shots from now on – I wanted to, they talked me out of it, she was horribly crabby about them, now I WILL!

    • GreenKidsGuide
      August 31, 2011 at 12:21 PM #

      I went thru a similar experience and now am a huge advocate for my kids health. I don’t let anyone come near them with any “solutions” until I’m informed! :)

  10. Lauren M
    August 28, 2011 at 4:41 PM #

    We also follow an alternative vaccine schedule, but I still worry every time my son has to get a vaccine, so after reading about this product on their website, I would feel so much safer being able to supplement my son with this product before and after vaccinations!!

    • GreenKidsGuide
      August 31, 2011 at 12:20 PM #

      So glad to hear it – I feel exactly the same way!

  11. Lauren Mueller
    August 28, 2011 at 4:42 PM #

    I LIKED VACCISHIELD ON FACEBOOK :) !!!

  12. Lauren Mueller
    August 28, 2011 at 4:45 PM #

    I am following @vaccishield on twitter (@laurmueller)!!

  13. Lauren Mueller
    August 28, 2011 at 4:47 PM #

    I am following @greenkidsguide on twitter (@laurmueller)!!

  14. Lauren Mueller
    August 28, 2011 at 4:51 PM #

    I tweeted about this contest on my twitter page (@laurmueller) :) !

  15. Lauren Mueller
    August 28, 2011 at 4:52 PM #

    I “liked” green kids guide on facebook (Lauren Wager Mueller)!

  16. Lauren Mueller
    August 28, 2011 at 4:56 PM #

    I posted this contest on my facebook (Lauren Wager Mueller)!

  17. Lauren Mueller
    August 28, 2011 at 4:57 PM #

    I subscribed to your blog!

  18. Lauren Mueller
    August 28, 2011 at 4:59 PM #

    i voted for your blog in the parent’s best blog contest!

  19. Ames
    August 30, 2011 at 10:24 AM #

    I like them on FB!!

  20. Laureen
    August 30, 2011 at 7:57 PM #

    I would love to try VacciShield in an effort to protect my child who needs several shots before school starts. Thanks!

    (“Saw” you at HMN T-party! ;)

    • GreenKidsGuide
      August 31, 2011 at 12:19 PM #

      Yay! I LOVE HMN!!! Just wish I had found it sooner!! :)

  21. Laureen
    August 30, 2011 at 8:01 PM #

    I follow VacciShield on Twitter (MamandeEDS).

  22. Laureen
    August 30, 2011 at 10:02 PM #

    Tweet:
    http://twitter.com/#!/MamandeEDS/status/108781576174845953

  23. Laureen
    August 30, 2011 at 10:05 PM #

    I follow Green Kids Guide on Twitter. (MamandeEDS)

  24. Laureen
    August 30, 2011 at 10:16 PM #

    I Like Green Kids Guide on Facebook. (Laureen M.)

  25. Laureen
    August 30, 2011 at 10:27 PM #

    I voted for Green Kids Guide in Parents best kids health blog contest.

  26. Laureen
    August 30, 2011 at 10:33 PM #

    I subscribe to Green Kids Guide Blog.

  27. Laureen
    August 31, 2011 at 8:12 PM #

    Daily Tweet:
    http://twitter.com/#!/MamandeEDS/status/109115037381181440

  28. Richard Chesmore
    August 31, 2011 at 9:15 PM #

    This is a very important product for every parent to know about. It will answer some of the serious concerns that we have making this decision for our children.

  29. Sharon Palmer
    August 31, 2011 at 9:20 PM #

    Thank heavens for developing this wonderful product. I will be ordering soon. I work with so many parents that worry about the side effects of vaccinations, but don’t want to have their children go unvaccinated. My own daughter has been in this struggle—now I think that she will be comfortable.

  30. Beatrice Kaufman
    August 31, 2011 at 9:21 PM #

    My son had a bad reaction—now I will try this. I hope that I win. If not, I will order some.

  31. Marcia Harms
    August 31, 2011 at 9:28 PM #

    I am a grandmother and I worry about my grandchildren getting serious side effects from vaccinations. Now I will try to feel better about them by using this product

  32. Marcia Harms
    August 31, 2011 at 9:29 PM #

    I am a grandmother and I worry about my grandchildren getting serious side effects from vaccinations. Now I will try to feel better about them by using this product. This is the first time I have said anything public about this issue.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. School’s in! Germs out! Non-toxic soap review and giveaway! | Green Kids Guide - September 7, 2011

    [...] Just in time for Back to School: Vaccishield Review (GreenKidsGuide.com) [...]

  2. Healthy Child Party Day 8: Relieve Pain Naturally | Healthy Home Magazine - May 25, 2012

    [...] Vaccishield Homeopathic Immune Boost Review (Healthy Home Magazine) [...]

  3. Five Natural Tips to Get the Most Out of Your Exercise | Healthy Home Magazine - July 5, 2012

    [...] need for nutritional support to meet the needs and challenges of today’s children, she developed VacciShield, the first-ever nutritional support for babies and kids during [...]

Leave a Reply